February 8, 2022 Newsletter

The only news you'll need this week 🎯

Clearing a New Path™ and Clearing a New Path Podcast™ are products of Radar Media, located in Dorchester, Ontario on the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe, Haudenoshownee and Neutral peoples who once used this land as their traditional beaver hunting grounds.  As a settler here I’m committed to deepening understanding of Indigenous communities and reframing responsibilities to land and community. I am grateful to Mother Earth for the opportunity for love and connection and to the spirits of the Elders and the Medicine People who still walk the Earth.

FEBRUARY 8, 2022

I've been watching what's been going on, reading countless stories and I'll admit I've gotten myself pretty immersed in it. I wrote about feeling a bit like 'Chicken Little' here.

This month is Black History Month. It's an excellent time to listen and learn about the history of Black folks in Canada and all over the world. I'm doing my best to listen, learn and grow.

PODCAST EPISODE LIVE ON WEDNESDAY MORNING!

NEWS

On my mind this week:

1.

The Trucker Protest

- As I mentioned above, I've allowed myself to be consumed by commentary (on both sides of the fence) on the protests. I wrote about it

. (Please feel free to comment) My hubby finally had to say to me that I needed to 'take a break' from it for my own health and sanity (and his) and I've gone back to my regular exercise and meditation. And sleeping. I'm still watching, just not as feverishly.

2.

“BREAK EVERY YOKE AND LET THE OPPRESSED GO FREE”

Have you heard of black suffragist, abolitionist, publisher, and lawyer,

? "Shadd joined thousands of other African Americans in emigrating to Canada. She briefly taught the children of the emigrants and then turned to newspaper editing. When the first issue of the Provincial Freeman appeared in Windsor, Ontario in 1853, she became the first black woman newspaper editor in North America." (Source:

)

3. How about

Rosemary Brown

?

Rosemary Brown has the distinction of being Canada's first Black female member of a provincial legislature and the first woman to run for leadership of a federal political party.

. (Source: Historica Canada)

4.

. While not as contentious an issue as the protests, the topic has been talked about a great deal during the pandemic. As entrepreneurs, working for yourselves, how do you feel about a

4 day work week

? I honestly think I laughed out loud!

5.

suggests that the pandemic may have resulted in backwards motion for rural women entrepreneurs and I'd have to agree. It ticks most of the boxes of issues many are struggling with, however, what has been done since it was written (in 2020)? (Source: The Conversation Canada)

Clearing a New Path Podcast™ and this newsletter are both supported by Xplornet Enterprise Solutions

Please share the newsletter and the signup form! And if you know of a female entrepreneur in rural Canada that we should speak with, please connect: [email protected]