May 24, 2022 Newsletter

The only news you'll need this week 🎯

Clearing a New Path™ and Clearing a New Path Podcast™ are products of Radar Media, located in Dorchester, Ontario on the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe, Haudenosaunee and Neutral peoples who once used this land as their traditional beaver hunting grounds.  As a settler here I’m committed to deepening understanding of Indigenous communities and reframing responsibilities to land and community. I am grateful to Mother Earth for the opportunity for love and connection and to the spirits of the Elders and the Medicine People who still walk the Earth.

MAY 24, 2022

Due to some technical difficulties, I'm a bit tardy with the newsletter today.I DO live in rural Ontario where a summer storm left several folks without power. Fortunately, the only issue we had was internet-related and I had some computer hardware issues. Alas, life happens.

What does the word 'freedom' mean to you here in Canada? Has it changed? It has for me, read about it here.

You can always support my efforts with a donation or becoming a member here.

Stay curious friends,Shauna

Emma Hull has collected a long list of professional experience over the years, including training folks in emergency services and working with teams in Iqualuit. Emma has over a decade of leadership experience in corporate and government environments from England to Canada. After her own awakening, she walked away from her career to devote herself to helping others on their path of transformation with her coaching business Life Untethered.

NEWS

On my mind this week:

1. What is 'freedom'?I've been thinking a lot about what the word freedom means here in Canada. I wrote down a few thoughts. I'm eager to hear your input, whether you agree or not.

2. Have you heard of Canada Confesses?

I'm hoping to have someone from the movement on the podcast soon so stay tuned!

As always, I appreciate your thoughts and suggestions for stories: [email protected] or hit reply!

3. Feds make financial commitment to help settle newcomers in rural and remote Prairie communities

"More than $14 million will be invested between 14 towns and organizations committed to the support of refugees and immigrants. Over $10 million will go to 11 organizations while $4.2 million will be split between the communities of Fort McMurray and Grande Prairie, Alta. and Winkler, Man.Canada is preparing for an influx of refugees from Ukraine displaced by the invasion by Russia. Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Immigration, Marie-France Lalonde, said the investment will help these communities prepare for newcomers."

(Image and story source: CTVNews Regina)

4. Inspiring the next generation of rural, remote and Indigenous entrepreneurs

"When Tasha Swite introduces herself at the inaugural Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurship Day in Vernon (B.C.), she says: 'I’m a mother. I’m a wife. And I’m a fourth-generation entrepreneur.'Tasha Swite is the owner of N'ha-itk, Spirit of the Lake Native Boutique in West Kelowna.'I put my whole life into my business — and I love every minute,' Swite told the students, now three years after taking the leap to open the gift shop that sells everything from intricately beaded earrings to handcrafted-in-BC rabbit fur moccasins."(Image and story source: Castanet.net)

5. Indigenous woman, sterilized at 14, wants the practice criminalized

WARNING: This story contains content that may be distressing to readers.

Author and activist Morningstar Mercredi is calling for the criminalization of forced and coerced sterilization, in the hopes that women — especially First Nations, Inuit and Métis women — will never suffer the physical and mental trauma it inflicted upon her."I knew that lending my voice to my experience as a survivor was critical and important. Not only for my own process [but also] to let other survivors know that they can come forward. They are not alone," she told White Coat, Black Art host Dr. Brian Goldman.When Mercredi was 14 years old and in her seventh month of pregnancy, she went to a hospital in Saskatoon after experiencing cramping and spotting. She ended up having a C-section.

What she didn't know, however, was that the surgeon also performed a tubal ligation, removing her left ovary and fallopian tube, without her knowledge or consent.

Read the full story(Image and story source: CBC Radio - White Coat, Black Art)

Clearing a New Path Podcastâ„¢ and this newsletter are both supported by Xplornet Enterprise Solutions

Please share the newsletter and the signup form! And if you know of a female entrepreneur in rural Canada that we should speak with, please connect: [email protected]