Revenue Test: Mid-Campaign Email

Let’s rebuild a united rural community 🫶

Hello Amazing Humans,As many of you know, I spent the past couple of weeks moderating the comments on my Facebook posts, and it’s been a humbling and eye-opening experience. For anyone who’s ever spent any time in the comments section, you probably know what I mean. I saw anger, confusion, aggression — and, thankfully, a good share of support too. But mostly I saw pain.I saw first-hand that our trust, as a community, has frayed and that people are lashing out because they don't feel heard. But I hear you. And I genuinely want to help foster a space for healthy, open dialogue in rural Canada.

A space where we can ask questions, listen and learn from each other — and even discuss contentious issues without unravelling into instant judgement and distrust. I want to help us find a path forward together.

Last week, I launched the first podcast episode for my new season, exploring women in rural politics. In the weeks to come, I plan to unpack other important questions, such as the word “freedom” and what it means to different people in rural Canada (and how little urban folks seem to understand us!). The next episode is about women in trades and other traditionally male-dominated professions in rural Canada and look at how women are filling some of the voids left as older trades people retire and how some rural folks are actually seeking out women contractors. I’m also speaking with physicians who provide gender affirming care and rural members of the 2SLGBTQA+ community about their experiences and how folks can support them in rural Canadian communities. And I’d like to meet newcomers to rural Canada and ask what drew them outside the urban centres, and how they’re adjusting to their new lives here. Labour shortage is a big topic in rural Canada and I’ll cover that too.And that’s just the beginning.I am really looking forward to hearing from all kinds of folks and creating space for honest, brave discussions you won’t find elsewhere in traditional rural media in Canada.But I need your help.It takes resources to do the research to host these discussions and bring you these podcasts and independent journalism.I know times are tight for a lot of us, but if you could contribute even the equivalent of a few cups of coffee a month, it would go a long way towards making this project more sustainable. 

Together, I truly believe we can begin to reknit our fractured community, as we rebuild trust and honest communication to clear a new path forward.Will you join me?Sincerely and respectfully,Shauna RaeFounder, Clearing a New Path 

Clearing a New Path™ and Clearing a New Path Podcast™ are products of Radar Media, located in Dorchester, Ontario on the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe, Haudenosaunee and Neutral peoples who once used this land as their traditional beaver hunting grounds.  As a settler here I’m committed to deepening understanding of Indigenous communities and reframing responsibilities to land and community. I am grateful to Mother Earth for the opportunity for love and connection and to the spirits of the Elders and the Medicine People who still walk the Earth.